Home Forums Chart Support toolTip contentFormatter – take earlier dataPoint when not present

toolTip contentFormatter – take earlier dataPoint when not present

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

Hello,

First of all – Hi to all members!
    Second – Great job on CanvasJS – I’m a js newbie and it is quite nice thing to work on :)

Now, the problem im facing:

I have a chart with multiple lines, I use toolTip contentFormatter to have all the needed info from all the graphs. But I cannot ‘trick’ the contentFormatter function to use ‘earlier’ dataPoint if it is not present.

Example:

data: [{
    type: "spline",
    name: "1.",
    xValueFormatString: "DD MM YYYY",
    dataPoints: [
    	{ z: 500, zz: " mg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 1),  y: 2 },
    	{ z: 500, zz: " mg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 3), y: 3 },
    	{ z: 500, zz: " mg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 8),  y: 3 },
    	{ z: 500, zz: " mg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 9), y: 4 },
    	{ z: 500, zz: " mg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 16), y: 6 },
    	{ z: 500, zz: " mg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 23), y: 8 },
    ]},{
    name: "2.",
    	{ z: 5000, zz: " IU", x: new Date(2020, 4, 10),  y: 2 },
    	{ z: 5000, zz: " IU", x: new Date(2020, 4, 12), y: 2 },
    	{ z: 5000, zz: " IU", x: new Date(2020, 5, 9), y: 2 },
    	{ z: 5000, zz: " IU", x: new Date(2020, 5, 16), y: 3 },
    ]},{
    name: "3.",
    	{ z: 100, zz: " mcg", x: new Date(2020, 4, 10),  y: 2 },
    	{ z: 100, zz: " mcg", x: new Date(2020, 4, 17),  y: 2 },
    	{ z: 100, zz: " mcg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 9), y: 2 },
    	{ z: 100, zz: " mcg", x: new Date(2020, 5, 16), y: 3 },
    ]},

As you can see “1.” contain nothing on Date 2020, 4
    And “2.” and “3.” contain nothing on Date 2020, 5, 8

Is there a way to use the ‘earlier’ dataPoint?
    Let’s say I want to check Date 2020, 5, 8:
    “2.” is empty (I would like to take info from 2020, 4, 12)
    “3.” is empty (I would like to take info from 2020, 4, 17)

Oh, the tooltip contentFormatter:

toolTip: {