Home Forums Chart Support using json array from php json_encode

using json array from php json_encode

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

Hi! Im new to canvasJS and my web programming isn’t very strong. I have a php file that retrieves data from a mysql database and encodes it into a json array. i would like to visualise this data into a graph using canvasjs but im not sure how to proceed. i would like the graph to update itself every 5 mins. i managed to achieve this using jQuery and a html table but im not sure how to do it using canvasJS.
    Any help is greatly appreciated!
    below is a snippet of my php code.

$sql = 'SELECT *  FROM sensor ORDER BY ID';

if($query = mysqli_query($conn,$sql)){
                $json_array = array();

while($row = mysqli_fetch_array($query, MYSQLI_ASSOC)){
                    $json_array[] = $row;
                }

echo json_encode($json_array);

@mrt4c,

Can you kindly create a sample project reproducing the issue along with the sample database and share it over Google-Drive or Onedrive so that we can look into the code, run it locally to understand the scenario better and help you resolve?

From what we have observed, sometimes things get delayed mostly when we are not able to reproduce the issue or not able to understand the exact requirements or the solution that we provide may not work properly due to the variation in chart-options being used by you and us.

Having a sample project helps us in figuring out the issue and suggesting an appropriate solution accordingly.

Shashi Ranjan
    Team CanvasJS

I just do not know how to start using CanvasJS. I have a json array but i do not know how to integrate it with canvasJS. A point in the right direction would be extremely helpful. I have looked at the examples on canvasJS but i still do not know how to proceed.

@mrt4c,

When you have a JSON array it is very easy to generate charts from them. Let’s consider you have a JSON array in this format:

[	
        [